Havre De Grace City Council Elections 2023 Results Updated: Vicki Jones, Jason Robertson and Johnny Boker Win Seats


HAVRE DE GRACE - Results have been released for Tuesday's Havre de Grace City Council elections. Incumbent Jason Robertson received the most votes out of the seven candidates.

Two new faces will sit on the council this year. Johnny Boker and Vicki Jones placed second and third in the election. David Martin, the other incumbent in the race, placed fourth, only two votes behind Jones.

Early election results showed that Martin was ahead by five votes before including provisional and absentee ballots, which allowed Jones to clinch victory.

A total of 995 ballots were cast, according to the Harford County Board of Elections. Voters were asked to select up to three candidates and respond to one ballot question.

Robertson attained 559 votes, granting the councilman his fourth term in office. In an interview with the Patch, he said that one of his primary goals this term will be continuing his work with the Havre de Grace Youth Commission.

"It's really just to see things through to the end. I want to continue my work with the Youth Commission and support Havre de Grace youth programs."

In his third try for the city council, Boker received 511 votes to earn a seat. He told Patch that he hopes to increase communication between the government and its citizens.

"I'm also excited to be a conduit of information for the public regarding major land use projects. I want to close the communication gaps between when shovels go into the ground and when our citizens realize that these projects are taking place. Specifically, the revitalization of the Harford Memorial Hospital building, especially Lodge Lane Alley."

Jones received 421 votes in her first run for public office. As a member of the county parks and red board, she said that her goals include improving the quality of life for young people in Havre de Grace and serving as a role model for other women of color.

"I hope to be a role model to any person of color or woman, guiding them through a process and giving them the encouragement that several inspiring women have given me," Jones said. "We have to figure out how to keep young people here, in the town that they've called home. We need to do a better job of having available housing for them, activities that would be interesting to young people, and job opportunities."

The four candidates who did not win seats on the council are Sharon Brown Jacobs (396 votes), Donna Kasnic (187 votes), Rich Wehner (155 votes), and David Martin (419 votes).

This year's only ballot question passed overwhelmingly. Voters granted Habitat for Humanity Susquehanna, Inc. the transfer of three city lots to build three new houses, with 88.6% voting yes.

More News from Havre de Grace
I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified