Havre De Grace Student Selected To Serve As Student Page For 2023 Maryland General Assembly


Credit: Jacob Baumgart/ Patch

HAVRE DE GRACE - Six Harford County High School seniors have been selected to serve as student pages for the 2023 Maryland General Assembly, including one student from Havre de Grace High School.

The MGA page program was created in 1970 by House Speaker Thomas Hunter Lowe. It was designed to foster student leadership, educate students about the legislative process, and promote youth interest in government.

The Student Pages will distribute materials and messages to legislators, maintain bill books, and assist visitors as they learn more about the legislative process.

Michael Brogley, Student Page Program Coordinator in Harford County, released a statement congratulating the selected students.

“As a political science teacher, I am passionate about the Student Page Program,” Brogley said. “Pages, I urge you to live in the moment during this experience, to really take it all in.”

Molly Martin of Havre de Grace High School was among those chosen to serve as pages.

According to the Baltimore Sun, Martin is president of the orchestra and vice president of the National Honor Society at Havre de Grace High School. She serves as a member of the Tri-M Music Honor Society, academic team, and speech and debate teams and is also the music department aide for Havre de Grace Middle/High School.

In the community, she has served as a Harford Glen counselor, a Havre de Grace Independence Day volunteer, a Holiday Tree Jubilee volunteer, and a Havre de Grace candlelight tour volunteer.

Each page is paid a stipend of $55 per day. The page office arranges for students from outside Anne Arundel County to stay in page housing near the State House for $25 per night.

During the 13 weeks of the legislative session, from the second week in January through early April, each student will serve for one week during the first half of the session and return for a second during the latter half.

The other Harford County students who will be serving as pages this legislative session are:

  • Matthew Botteon and Braelyn Howard of C. Milton Wright High School
  • Grace Callwood of Edgewood High School
  • Sara King of Fallston High School
  • Mark Matysek of Patterson Mill High School
I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified