Havre de Grace Wins Horse of the Year

The thoroughbred named after Havre de Grace brings home a top award.


has been voted the best.

The thoroughbred racehorse named after was at Monday's Eclipse Awards in California.

Havre de Grace, a filly that made national headlines by and finishing fourth against them in the Breeder's Cup Classic, became the third straight female to win the award. Zenyatta won in 2010, after Rachel Alexandra won in 2009.

received 166 first-place votes—from the voting members of the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, Daily Racing Form and the National Turf Writers and Broadcasters—for 1,897 total points.

According to the Associated Press, owner Rick Porter said that while accepting the award: "As many of you know, I've seen the lowest of lows in horse racing and I've seen a lot of highs, but nothing rivals . She did it her way. She won the big races when it counted."

Porter went on to say, "She puts fire in my belly every time she races. She's just an amazing force that fits the name harbor of grace."

Did you follow Havre de Grace in 2011? Tell us in the comments.

William Caple January 19, 2012 at 05:13 PM
I was happy to see her win! It validates the "un-retirement" of Larry Jones and puts them back in the limelight in a positive way. Something that they needed after the way Eight Belles career ended. derbydeals.com


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »