.

Is Decorating HdG Lafayette Statue Disrespectful?

Tell us what you think of the Orioles outfit adorning the general at Legion Square in Havre de Grace.

Havre de Grace residents had mixed reactions to a photograph of the General Marquis de Lafayette statue dressed up in Orioles gear.

Some found levity in the costume, which was put together Saturday night, according to a user on Reddit, where the picture was originally posted.

Several users on the Havre de Grace Patch Facebook page chimed in on the discussion.

Brian Lantz: "Revolutionary war hero, the one who named Havre de Grace, once again shows support for American Revolutionary change...in the AL East and MLB, that is."

A few readers said the costume was "fun."

Amanda Close: "Can't wait to see what he is going to be for Halloween."

Some viewed the dressed-up statue as a sign of disrespect.

Carole Williams: "If one wants to decorate their private property, go for it, but this is public and we pay for the cleanup."

Sherry Hawkins: "I personally think that its disrespectful to EVER decorate the statue!"

Others said that decorating a public monument was a gray area.

Debbie Smith: "Supporting the O's and so near Halloween...it's just something fun. Now if this were outside of a Church, and it was the Virgin Mary, or Jesus, I could understand some of your feelings."

TELL US: Is it OK to decorate a statue?

Brian October 15, 2012 at 09:22 PM
Happy for the O's but that was not in good taste nor was it a very good job to begin with.
Kasey October 15, 2012 at 09:25 PM
Why not have fun with it. Maybe the city can decorate it every Holliday . They line the streets with lights and decorations anyway . It would be neat to see I think.
Jay Donoghue October 15, 2012 at 09:28 PM
There are undecorated statues in towns across the nation and for the most part they are ignored. HdG, however, is a vibrant, intelligent community full of fun that likes to reflect current events by decorating the statue of the Marquis de Lafayette. The Marquis, a child of the French Revolution, was very familiar with public expression. I think the fun captured by the HdG decorators would be appreciated by that excellent young man.
Alicia October 15, 2012 at 09:51 PM
Wasn't he wearing rain gear when we flooded?
Tom Fitzpatrick October 15, 2012 at 09:55 PM
This is silly! We've decorated the Marquis for various events for years. Back when the Duck Drop first started, we put the year lights in front of it for a week or two after the new year. Lafayette has celebrated Christmas, Haloween and various special events for years. I didn't think anyone actually minded. I certainly don't!
Phyllis Perzanowski October 15, 2012 at 10:08 PM
I enjoy seeing him decorated. Do not think it is disrespectful.
Blake McCloud October 15, 2012 at 10:25 PM
One of the things I do enjoy seeing done in town!!!!!!!!
Diana saulsbury October 16, 2012 at 01:00 AM
Come on people, lighten up! Its all good clean fun, no one defaced him, and I know these people who did this. They will and have gone back and took it all back down when appropriate. Find an important issue to be outraged about, cause this is mice nuts!
Hollee Sifford October 16, 2012 at 04:12 AM
I find nothing disrespectful at all....I have seen it decorated for years christmas,homecoming,first fridays,etc....As long as it stays within what is being celebrated and NOT decorated with disrespectful intentions I say Way to go and be a great community with a sense of humor
Daryl newhart October 16, 2012 at 12:58 PM
If done tastefully it's absolutely appropriate and good for our community. In my travels I've been to Brussels a few times, and they have a very famous statue there called the Manneken Pis (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Manneken_Pis). It's always interesting to see what outfit (he has hundreds) he's wearing depending on the season or local event. Perhaps we could tie a theme into 1st Fridays a few times a year (O's opening in April, Ravens in Sept) and dress him appropriately those days.
Greekgirl October 16, 2012 at 01:05 PM
It's AWESOME! Tell the stodgy coots who had a negative response to get up off their can and do something to help HdG instead of complaining.
sef October 16, 2012 at 04:00 PM
I love it!!
Steve Gilman October 16, 2012 at 07:50 PM
I do not see disrespect for decorating the statue. At the end of the day, it is a sculpture of someone. It isn't their grave and it isn't a religious statue, so there should not be any hard feelings against it. It is in fun and the decorating is not to harm or deface the value of his character.
Jim Ringsaker October 19, 2012 at 01:30 AM
Tom is 100% right!
Dr Marianne Fridberg October 19, 2012 at 12:24 PM
I agree with Jay Donoghue. I think that dressing the statue keeps the Marquis' name alive. I'd rather see the statue decorated than neglected. Go, Lafayette!
HDG resident October 23, 2012 at 02:15 AM
On a trip to Virginia I noticed a large roadside statue of Jesus had been dressed in Virginia Tech tee shirt and baseball hat. I loved it! More people looked at that statue and said His name that morning than probably ever before!
Kevin Boyd October 23, 2012 at 03:42 PM
Lafayette was a French nobleman who purchased a ship and came to the America on his own dime to fight for liberty and the American colonists. He agreed to serve in the Continental Army without compensation and served on Washington's staff and commanded American troops in battle; he often outfitted troops that served under him with his own money and was also wounded in the Battle of Brandywine. During the war he returned to France to get support from the King for the war effort. He received support and returned to America with General Rochembeau and about 6000 French troops (check out the historic sign at the Middle School on Lewis Lane Rochembeau and his troops camped there). Rochembeau's Army and Washington's Continental Army defeated Cornwallis at the Battle of Yorktown ending the Revolutionary War, Lafayette also commanded American troops during this battle. Lafayette was an American citizenand and is buried in France in soil from Bunker Hill. It doesn't really bother me to decorate him, it's all done in good fun but Lafayette isn't just some guy who supposedly named HdG but is a war hero who helped us win the Revlutionary War.
John Wilkes Booth January 18, 2013 at 08:28 PM
The statue is for ALL HdG residents. It is not a duck on someone's front porch. Dressing it up in sports uniforms can offend some people. If you want a to support your team on your own property, by all means do, but leave public monuments alone!

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something